Change Yourself…Change The World.


India= Sickness
January 20, 2009, 8:52 pm
Filed under: India

Note:

This is originally from my previous facebook group ‘Brittany Goes Global,’ (wanna know how I got the blog name? ;)) in which I sent messages to friends about my travels with Global College’s CRC Program through Taiwan, Thailand, India, and Turkey. This post was not originally associated with this blog, but I have put it up here in the correct date. As you can see, my writing is not quite up to par with what it is now 🙂 But I thought you readers would still find it informative and entertaining.

Hi friends,

Well I forgot that being in India means being deathly ill. For the past two weeks since my arrival I’ve been slowly coughing up my lung, throwing up almost everything I eat, getting cold sweats and chills and digestive problems and ALL of that fun stuff! India is welcoming me back full force, and my body is begging it to stop. But my sickness hasn’t stopped me from all of the fun school activities I’ve been forced to do. We had a 7 hour bus ride on the most uncomfortable bus of all time to Coorg… well, what can you do?

Fortunately, we went to Bylakuppe, which is the largest Tibetan settlement in India and the most interesting place for me. Yes, I had momos for lunch! For those that don’t know, momo is Tibetan food that is essentially dumplings, and it’s the most delicious thing on earth. That made my life. We also visited two Tibetan monasteries, and our coordinator Yoli gave us a long lecture on the four different sects in Tibetan Buddhism and how they emerged. I was so excited to learn all of it because I love Tibetan culture and language, and I was able to piece together so many things from the 6 week homestay I did with my Tibetan family. We also visited a TCV school (The Children’s Village, a program that has schools all over India for Tibetan children), and we talked to an English teacher there about the problems surrounding Tibetan refugee communities.

Other than that, I spent most of my time whimpering painfully in my bed. We’re back in Bangalore now with blessed internet, and I’m at the Global College India Center anticipating the Obama inauguration party they’re throwing. I hope you’re all celebrating today! Miss everyone and hope you’re all doing physically better than I am.
Much love,
Brittany


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment